Every new car sold in the EU comes with a minimum two year legal guarantee, and most of Europe’s established carmakers are perfectly happy to stick close to that number. Volkswagen is probably the clearest example: its standard warranty is only two years, yet the brand has built a reputation for making dependable cars over decades, so buyers have rarely treated the relatively short warranty as a major reason to look elsewhere. And when it comes to EVs, a long warranty isn’t necessarily the same thing as a guarantee that nothing will go wrong, as I looked at in What Actually Breaks on an EV?
The newer EV brands are playing a different game. With less history behind them and European buyers still getting used to unfamiliar names, many are using much longer warranties to make their cars easier to trust. Seven years, eight years or even longer is becoming common among the newer Chinese brands, while some go well beyond that on specific components.
I went through the official warranty documentation of almost thirty EV manufacturers active in Europe, covering the general vehicle warranty, the battery, the drive unit, corrosion, paint and roadside assistance. Alongside the well known brands and the ones that have consistently featured among Europe’s best selling EV manufacturers, I’ve also included newer or smaller volume names becoming a real presence on our roads, such as Xpeng, MG’s IM sub-brand, Changan’s Deepal brand, Zeekr, Polestar and Jaecoo.
How the warranties compare
| Brand | General vehicle | Battery | Drive unit | Corrosion | Paint | Roadside assistance |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Audi | 6 years / 150,000 km, first 2 years unlimited km | 8 years / 160,000 km, 70% SoH* | Covered within the general warranty | 12 years, unlimited km | 3 years | Free for life, renews with each scheduled service |
| BMW | 3 years, unlimited km | 8 years / 160,000 km, 70% SoH | Covered within the general warranty | 12 years, unlimited km | 3 years, unlimited km | 3 years |
| BYD | 6 years / 150,000 km | 8 years / 250,000 km, 70% SoH | 8 years / 150,000 km | 12 years, unlimited km | 12 years* | 6 years |
| Changan (Deepal) | 7 years / 160,000 km | 8 years / 200,000 km, 70% SoH | 8 years / 200,000 km | 12 years, unlimited km | Not separately published | Not separately published |
| Citroën | 2 years; free extension to 8 years / 160,000 km via We Care if serviced on schedule | 8 years / 160,000 km, 70% SoH | Covered with the battery | 12 years, unlimited km | 3 years | 2 years, unlimited km |
| Cupra | 5 years / 150,000 km | 8 years / 160,000 km, tiered from 78% to 70% SoH | Covered within the general warranty | 12 years | 3 years | 10 years |
| Fiat | 2 years | 8 years / 160,000 km, 70% SoH | Not separately published | 12 years | 3 years | 2 years |
| Ford | 2 years, unlimited km | 8 years / 160,000 km, 70% SoH | Not separately published | 12 years, subject to annual inspection | 2 years | 2 years |
| Hyundai | 5 years, unlimited km | 8 years / 160,000 km, 70% SoH | Covered within the general warranty | 12 years, unlimited km | 5 years | 5 years |
| Kia | 7 years / 150,000 km in the EU; UK terms differ | 7 years / 150,000 km in the EU; 8 years / 100,000 miles in the UK | Covered within the general warranty | 12 years, unlimited km | 5 years / 160,000 km | Free for the first year, then renews with servicing |
| Leapmotor | 3–4 years / 100,000 km depending on model | 8 years / 160,000 km, 70% SoH | Covered within the general warranty | Not separately published | Not separately published | Matches the general warranty period |
| Mercedes-Benz | 2–3 years, depending on market | 8 years / 160,000 km for most EQ models, 70% SoH; EQE and EQS 10 years / 250,000 km | Covered within the general warranty | Up to 30 years against rust perforation | 3 years | Mobilo: 2–3 years initially, then renewable with servicing |
| MG | 7 years / 150,000 km | 7 years / 150,000 km | 7 years / 150,000 km | 7 years, subject to annual inspection | 3 years / 72,000 km | Free for 12 months, then renews yearly up to 7 years |
| MG IM (EU) | 7 years / 150,000 km | 7 years / 150,000 km | 7 years / 150,000 km | Not separately confirmed | Not separately published | 7 years |
| MG IM (UK) | 7 years / 130,000 km | 8 years / 160,000 km | 7 years / 130,000 km | Not separately confirmed | Not separately published | 7 years |
| Nissan | 3 years / 100,000 km | 8 years / 160,000 km | Covered within the general warranty | 12 years, unlimited km | 3 years, unlimited km | Included for the warranty period, with free 2-year extension |
| Omoda & Jaecoo | 7 years / 150,000 km | 8 years / 160,000 km, 70% SoH | Covered with the battery | 12 years | 3 years | 3 years |
| Opel | 2 years, unlimited km | 8 years / 160,000 km, 70% SoH | Covered under the applicable EV warranty | 12 years, subject to annual inspection | Not separately published | Free assistance up to 8 years / 160,000 km |
| Peugeot | 2 years, unlimited km; year 3 capped at 100,000 km | 8 years / 160,000 km, 70% SoH | Peugeot Care can extend coverage to match the battery warranty | 12 years | 2 years | Included for the warranty period |
| Polestar | 3 years / 100,000 km on current terms; older cars may differ | 8 years / 160,000 km, 70% SoH | Not separately specified | 12 years | Not separately published | Not separately published |
| Porsche | 2 years, unlimited km | 8 years / 160,000 km, 70% SoH | Covered within the general warranty | 12 years | 3 years | Not clearly published as a standard free term |
| Renault | 2 years; some current Croatian E-Tech offers extend this to 5 years / 100,000 km | 8 years / 160,000 km, 70% SoH | 4 years / 100,000 km, separate warranty | 12 years, unlimited km | 3 years | Included for the warranty period |
| Škoda | 2 years, unlimited km | 8 years / 160,000 km, 70% SoH | Covered within the general warranty | 12 years, unlimited km | 3 years | 2 years |
| Tesla | 4 years / 80,000 km | 8 years / 160,000–192,000 km, 70% SoH | Covered with the battery | 12 years, unlimited km | 4 years | Free for the warranty period |
| Toyota | 3 years / 100,000 km, unlimited km in year 1 | 8 years / 160,000 km, 70% SoH; Battery Care can extend this to 10 years / 1,000,000 km | Not separately published | 12 years | 3 years, unlimited km | Not clearly published as a standalone term |
| Volkswagen | 2 years, unlimited km; factory extension available up to 5 years / 150,000 km | 8 years / 160,000 km; capacity guarantee tiered from 78% to 70% SoH | Covered within the general warranty | 12 years, unlimited km | 3 years | 3 years |
| Volvo | 3 years / 100,000 km | 8 years / 160,000 km, 70% SoH | Not separately specified | 12 years, unlimited km | 3 years | Not found in documentation |
| Xpeng (EU) | 2 years, renewable via servicing up to 7 years / 160,000 km | 8 years / 160,000 km, 70% capacity | Covered with the battery | 12 years, unlimited km | 3 years, unlimited km | 5 years / 120,000 km |
| Xpeng (UK) | 5 years / 120,000 km | 8 years / 160,000 km | Covered with the battery | 12 years, unlimited km | Not specified in UK documentation | Included, duration not published |
| Zeekr | 5 years / 100,000 km, extendable via servicing up to 10 years / 200,000 km | 8 years / 200,000 km, 70% SoH | Not separately specified | 12 years / 200,000 km | 4 years / 80,000 km | Not separately published |
*SoH = State of Health
Audi
Audi’s general warranty runs 6 years or 150,000 km, with the first 2 years unlimited on mileage. Paint is 3 years and corrosion the usual 12 years unlimited mileage. The Q4 e-tron and its siblings get an 8 year or 160,000 km battery warranty, tiered from a higher starting percentage down to the standard 70% floor. Roadside cover here is lifetime: Audi’s own site states it’s free for as long as you own the car, automatically renewing every time you get a scheduled inspection service done at an authorised Audi centre. A paid extended warranty option pushes the general cover further still, to 7 years or 250,000 km.
| Audi | Coverage |
|---|---|
| General vehicle | 6 years / 150,000 km, first 2 years unlimited km |
| Battery | 8 years / 160,000 km, capacity floor of 70% |
| Drive unit | Covered within the general warranty |
| Corrosion | 12 years, unlimited mileage |
| Paint | 3 years |
| Roadside assistance | Free for life, renews with each scheduled service |
BMW
BMW is the only mainstream European brand here that beats the 2 year standard, offering 3 years unlimited mileage as its baseline. The iX, iX1, iX3 and the rest of the electric range get 8 years or 160,000 km on the battery at the usual 70% floor, and both paint and corrosion run unlimited mileage, 3 and 12 years respectively. Roadside assistance is simply bundled into that 3 year general warranty rather than sold separately.

| BMW | Coverage |
|---|---|
| General vehicle | 3 years, unlimited mileage |
| Battery | 8 years / 160,000 km, 70% capacity |
| Drive unit | Covered within the general warranty |
| Corrosion | 12 years, unlimited mileage |
| Paint | 3 years, unlimited mileage |
| Roadside assistance | Included for the 3 year warranty period |
BYD
The Blade Battery gets 8 years or 250,000 km at a guaranteed minimum 70% state of health, more kilometres than any European brand on this list offers, on top of a 6 year or 150,000 km general warranty. The drive unit gets its own 8 year or 150,000 km cover, and roadside assistance runs 6 years. BYD has been tightening these terms as it builds out its European network, something I looked at in more detail in Chinese EV brands in Europe: who’s staying and who’s already gone. Corrosion and paint differ from the norm here: instead of two separate terms, BYD markets a single 12 year anti corrosion warranty that on some models bundles paint protection in too, so check the specific model’s paperwork.
| BYD | Coverage |
|---|---|
| General vehicle | 6 years / 150,000 km |
| Battery | 8 years / 250,000 km, 70% state of health |
| Drive unit | 8 years / 150,000 km |
| Corrosion | 12 years, bundled with paint on some models |
| Paint | Bundled with the 12 year corrosion cover |
| Roadside assistance | 6 years |
Changan
The Deepal S05 and S07 both come with a 7 year or 160,000 km general warranty and an 8 year or 200,000 km battery and drive unit warranty, which Changan describes as consistent across all its European markets rather than splitting by country. Corrosion cover runs 12 years unlimited mileage. Paint and roadside assistance aren’t broken out separately in what Changan has published so far, putting it in the same camp as Leapmotor on transparency.
| Changan | Coverage |
|---|---|
| General vehicle | 7 years / 160,000 km |
| Battery | 8 years / 200,000 km, consistent across European markets |
| Drive unit | 8 years / 200,000 km |
| Corrosion | 12 years, unlimited mileage |
| Paint | Not separately published |
| Roadside assistance | Not separately published |
Citroën
Citroën’s base warranty is a plain 2 years unlimited km, but Citroën We Care is free add on, and activates automatically once you service the car on schedule at an authorised partner, extending cover through to the next service, up to a ceiling of 8 years or 160,000 km, covering major components like the engine, gearbox and drivetrain. The battery on the electric range gets its own 8 year or 160,000 km term at 70% capacity, corrosion runs the usual 12 years unlimited km, and paint gets 3 years. Roadside assistance is a flat 2 years, unlimited km, with no renewal mechanic. Peugeot, Citroën’s closest Stellantis sibling here, doesn’t offer an equivalent free extension on its general warranty, so the two brands diverge more than you’d expect from shared platforms. Some owner reports suggest dealers push a separately priced Extended Care product instead of explaining that the free We Care already exists, so confirm which one you’re being quoted before paying for anything.
| Citroën | Coverage |
|---|---|
| General vehicle | 2 years, unlimited km, free extension to 8 years / 160,000 km via We Care with scheduled servicing |
| Battery | 8 years / 160,000 km, 70% capacity |
| Drive unit | Covered with the battery |
| Corrosion | 12 years, unlimited km |
| Paint | 3 years |
| Roadside assistance | 2 years, unlimited km |
Cupra
Every new Cupra gets 5 years or 150,000 km, with the first 2 years unlimited on mileage. The battery follows the same tiered structure as VW and Audi: at least 78% up to 3 years or 60,000 km, 74% up to 5 years or 100,000 km, and the usual 70% floor by 8 years or 160,000 km. Paint runs 3 years and corrosion 12 years, both standard for the Group. Roadside cover is a flat 10 years, one of the longest stated terms on this list.

| Cupra | Coverage |
|---|---|
| General vehicle | 5 years / 150,000 km, first 2 years unlimited km |
| Battery | 8 years / 160,000 km, tiered 78% (3 years/60,000 km), 74% (5 years/100,000 km), 70% (8 years/160,000 km) |
| Drive unit | Covered within the general warranty |
| Corrosion | 12 years |
| Paint | 3 years |
| Roadside assistance | 10 years, stated as a flat term |
Fiat
I couldn’t find the warranty duration on Fiat’s official website, so what follows comes from AutoBild’s testing coverage of the 500e and consistent owner reports on forums. Treat it as less certain than the rest of this list. The general factory warranty is 2 years, corrosion is covered for 12 years, and the battery is covered for 8 years or 160,000 km, with a 70% state-of-health floor. Paint is covered for 3 years. Every other Fiat model gets a free automatic extension of the general warranty into years 3 and 4, up to 40,000 km, called Maximum Care. However, the 500e is explicitly excluded. Its buyers have to pay separately for a Premium extension, which costs around €300 for two additional years, based on owner reports. Fiat Assistance is free for the duration of the general warranty, meaning just 2 years on the 500e unless you pay for the extension.
| Fiat | Coverage |
|---|---|
| General vehicle | 2 years, unconfirmed on kilometre limit; excluded from Fiat’s free 3rd/4th year Maximum Care extension |
| Battery | 8 years / 160,000 km, 70% state of health |
| Drive unit | Not separately published |
| Corrosion | 12 years |
| Paint | 3 years |
| Roadside assistance | Free for the general warranty period, so 2 years on the 500e unless separately extended |
Ford
Ford’s general warranty is a plain 2 years unlimited km, and battery is covered for 8 years or 160,000 km. Corrosion runs 12 years, requiring an annual inspection to stay valid. Paint matches the general warranty exactly at just 2 years, one of the shorter terms on this list. Roadside cover through Ford Assistance is bundled into that same 2 year period. A paid Ford Protect package extends general cover by up to 3 more years, taking total coverage to 5 years.
| Ford | Coverage |
|---|---|
| General vehicle | 2 years, unlimited km |
| Battery | 8 years / 160,000 km, 70% capacity |
| Drive unit | Not separately published |
| Corrosion | 12 years, requires annual inspection |
| Paint | 2 years, matches the general warranty |
| Roadside assistance | Included for the 2 year warranty period, paid extension available |
Hyundai
Hyundai keeps it simple: one 5 year unlimited mileage warranty covers the whole car, paint included, with no separate clause to dig up in the small print. The high voltage battery ranges runs 8 years or 160,000 km, the bodywork gets the standard 12 year unlimited mileage corrosion cover, and roadside assistance is free for the full 5 years, at home and elsewhere in Europe.
| Hyundai | Coverage |
|---|---|
| General vehicle | 5 years, unlimited mileage |
| Battery | 8 years / 160,000 km, 70% state of health |
| Drive unit | Covered within the general warranty |
| Corrosion | 12 years, unlimited mileage |
| Paint | Covered within the 5 year general warranty |
| Roadside assistance | Free for 5 years |
Kia
Kia doesn’t stretch the battery further than the general warranty just to get a bigger headline figure: both run the same 7 years or 150,000 km. In the UK, the general warranty drops the mileage cap entirely for that full 7 years. Paint gets 5 years or 160,000 km, corrosion is the usual 12 years unlimited, and roadside assistance starts free for year one before renewing annually with servicing.
| Kia | Coverage |
|---|---|
| General vehicle | 7 years / 150,000 km, unlimited mileage in the UK |
| Battery | 7 years / 150,000 km, same term as the general warranty |
| Drive unit | Covered within the general warranty |
| Corrosion | 12 years, unlimited mileage |
| Paint | 5 years / 160,000 km |
| Roadside assistance | Free for the first year, renews yearly with servicing |
Leapmotor
Compared with the other Chinese manufacturers on the list, many of which are offering generous warranties to win over still-sceptical European buyers, Leapmotor’s warranty is relatively modest. The T03 gets 3 years or 100,000 km on the general warranty, the C10 and B10 stretch to 4 years on the same kilometre cap, and the battery across the range runs around 8 years or 160,000 km. I couldn’t find a separately published corrosion or paint warranty anywhere in Leapmotor’s UK or EU materials, which most other brands on this list spell out explicitly.
| Leapmotor | Coverage |
|---|---|
| General vehicle | 3 to 4 years / 100,000 km, depending on model |
| Battery | 8 years / around 160,000 km |
| Drive unit | Covered within the general warranty |
| Corrosion | Not separately published |
| Paint | Not separately published |
| Roadside assistance | Free, matches the general warranty period |
Mercedes Benz
Mercedes-Benz backs the bodywork of its cars, EQ models included, against rust perforation for 30 years, a pledge dating back to 1998 and confirmed directly on Mercedes’ own UK service and repair page. It’s not unconditional, though: the car needs to be serviced according to Mercedes’ recommended schedule at an authorised repairer, or the corrosion cover and the free roadside package, called Mobilo, stop renewing. Mobilo starts with two years of cover and can then be renewed with servicing at an authorised Mercedes-Benz workshop. Most EQ models get 8 years or 160,000 km on the battery at 70% capacity, while the EQE and EQS step up to 10 years or 250,000 km, still at 70%. General warranty and paint cover sit at the more ordinary 3 and 3 years.

| Mercedes Benz | Coverage |
|---|---|
| General vehicle | 2 years, unlimited km |
| Battery | 8 years / 160,000 km for most EQ models, 70% capacity. EQE and EQS: 10 years / 250,000 km |
| Drive unit | Covered within the general warranty |
| Corrosion | 30 years against rust perforation |
| Paint | 3 years |
| Roadside assistance | Free for 3 years, renews yearly with servicing up to 30 years |
MG Motor
MG’s general warranty covers 7 years from first registration. The high voltage battery, drive motor, Power Electronic Box and Vehicle Control Unit are covered for 7 years or 150,000 km. Paint is covered too, with 3 years or 72,000 km against blistering, peeling, cracking, discolouration or staining, though not stone chips, scratches or corrosive contamination like bird droppings or road salt. Roadside assistance starts at 12 months and renews for free every year with a scheduled service, up to a maximum of 7 years total. MG’s corrosion warranty runs for just 7 years, not the 12 years nearly every other brand offers, only covers a specific list of panels rather than the whole body, and requires an annual inspection logged on MG’s own Corrosion Warranty Annual Inspection Sheet to stay valid.
| MG Motor | Coverage |
|---|---|
| General vehicle | 7 years from first registration |
| Battery | 7 years / 150,000 km, shared term with drive motor, PEB and VCU |
| Drive unit | 7 years / 150,000 km, same term as battery |
| Corrosion | 7 years, specific panel list, requires annual inspection at an authorised MG centre |
| Paint | 3 years / 72,000 km |
| Roadside assistance | Free for 12 months, renews yearly with servicing up to 7 years total |
MG IM
IM5 and IM6 come from IM Motors, a separate premium EV brand that SAIC set up in 2020. In China, these cars are sold under the IM name alone, but in Europe, SAIC badged them as MG IM5 and MG IM6 and sells them through MG’s dealer network, since MG already has name recognition here. Therefore, the different warranty figures between the MG and MG IM lineups reflect two separate SAIC product lines sharing a badge, rather than an inconsistency within one brand.
For the IM models, both the general and battery warranties are quoted at 7 years, but the kilometre allowance is lower in the UK: 150,000 km on the continent versus 130,000 km, or 80,000 miles, in the UK. The battery warranty flips that pattern: continental Europe gets 7 years or 150,000 km, the same as the general warranty, while the UK gets a longer 8-year or 160,000-km battery warranty. In other words, UK owners get a shorter general warranty by distance but a longer battery warranty.
I couldn’t confirm the IM models’ corrosion warranty from an IM-specific document, so treat that figure below as unconfirmed.
| MG IM | Continental Europe | United Kingdom |
|---|---|---|
| General vehicle | 7 years / 150,000 km | 7 years / 130,000 km (80,000 miles) |
| Battery | 7 years / 150,000 km, same term as general warranty | 8 years / 160,000 km (100,000 miles) |
| Drive unit | Covered within the general warranty | Covered within the general warranty |
| Corrosion | Not confirmed from an IM specific source | Not confirmed from an IM specific source |
| Paint | Not separately published | Not separately published |
| Roadside assistance | Included for the warranty period | Included for the warranty period |
Nissan
Nissan’s general warranty is 3 years or 100,000 km, and battery get 8 years or 160,000 km, though Nissan’s own materials don’t state an explicit capacity percentage the way most rivals do. Corrosion runs 12 years unlimited km and paint 3 years unlimited km. What stands out is the free extension: Real Garant 3+2 automatically adds 2 more years or up to 160,000 km total after the base warranty expires, at no cost, covering full mechanical, electrical and electronic faults. A further paid Real Garant 5+3 tier stretches cover 3 years beyond that, and both are transferable to a new owner if you sell the car.
| Nissan | Coverage |
|---|---|
| General vehicle | 3 years / 100,000 km |
| Battery | 8 years / 160,000 km, capacity floor not published |
| Drive unit | Covered within the general warranty |
| Corrosion | 12 years, unlimited km |
| Paint | 3 years, unlimited km |
| Roadside assistance | Included for the warranty period, free 2 year extension follows automatically |
Chery
Omoda and Jaecoo, Chery’s two export brands, share a single warranty package across both nameplates, and it’s one of the most completely documented on this list, with every category spelled out. The general warranty covers 7 years or 150,000 km, transferable to a new owner. The electric drive and battery get their own 8 year or 160,000 km term, restoring capacity to at least 70% if it falls short during that period. Paint is covered for 3 years, corrosion for 12 years against perforation from the inside out, and genuine replacement parts for 2 years regardless of the car’s age. Roadside assistance runs 3 years, available 24 hours a day.
| Chery | Coverage |
|---|---|
| General vehicle | 7 years / 150,000 km |
| Battery | 8 years / 160,000 km, 70% capacity |
| Drive unit | Covered with the battery |
| Corrosion | 12 years |
| Paint | 3 years |
| Roadside assistance | 3 years, 24 hours a day |
Opel
Opel’s general warranty is a straightforward 2 years with unlimited kilometres, applied by the manufacturer across the EU. Every electric Opel, apart from a couple of older models such as the Ampera and Ampera-e, gets Opel Assistance extended to 8 years or 160,000 km, exactly matching the battery warranty term.

The battery itself is covered for 8 years or 160,000 km, with a guaranteed minimum capacity of 70%. Corrosion is covered for 12 years, although Opel’s own footnote notes that some models deviate from this figure. The corrosion warranty also depends on an annual corrosion inspection being recorded in the service book. I couldn’t find a separately published paint warranty anywhere in Opel’s materials. Also, keep the 8-year EV roadside assistance extension separate from Opel FlexCare, which is a paid package that can also bundle Assistance and warranty extensions. If a dealer quotes you an extended warranty, make sure you confirm which of the two they’re actually offering.
| Opel | Coverage |
|---|---|
| General vehicle | 2 years, unlimited km |
| Battery | 8 years / 160,000 km, 70% capacity |
| Drive unit | Not separately published |
| Corrosion | 12 years, requires annual inspection, may vary by model |
| Paint | Not separately published |
| Roadside assistance | 2 years standard, extended to 8 years / 160,000 km |
Peugeot
Peugeot’s paint warranty runs just 2 years, shorter than anyone else here, on a general warranty that gives unlimited kilometres for the first 2 years before capping out around 100,000 km in year 3. The battery does the usual 8 years or 160,000 km at 70% capacity, and corrosion runs 12 years on passenger cars. Peugeot Care stretches cover for the electric motor, charger and drivetrain to match that 8 year battery term, free of charge, activated automatically with servicing at Peugeot’s official network.
| Peugeot | Coverage |
|---|---|
| General vehicle | 2 years unlimited km, then capped near 100,000 km in year 3 |
| Battery | 8 years / 160,000 km, 70% capacity |
| Drive unit | Free extension to match the battery term via Peugeot Care (formerly Allure Care), service activated |
| Corrosion | 12 years (5 years on van based models) |
| Paint | 2 years |
| Roadside assistance | Included for the warranty period |
Polestar
Polestar’s general warranty depends on when the car was built. Cars currently delivered by Polestar Germany get 3 years or 100,000 km, while older stock from model year 2026 or earlier still carries the previous 2-year, unlimited-mileage term. The Polestar 5 always gets 3 years or 100,000 km, regardless of when it was built. The battery is covered for 8 years or 160,000 km, with a 70% state-of-health floor. Corrosion is covered for 12 years, although Polestar notes that there can be some country-level variation.
Polestar’s own warranty FAQ doesn’t publish a separate paint warranty or roadside assistance package. Vehicle, battery and corrosion coverage are the only items given their own line items. A paid extended warranty is available for 1 to 3 years after the standard cover ends, with the same scope of coverage except for paintwork.
| Polestar | Coverage |
|---|---|
| General vehicle | 3 years / 100,000 km (current production); 2 years unlimited km on MY2026 or earlier stock |
| Battery | 8 years / 160,000 km, 70% state of health |
| Drive unit | No dedicated line item, defaults to the general warranty |
| Corrosion | 12 years, may vary slightly by country |
| Paint | Not separately published |
| Roadside assistance | Not separately published |
Porsche
Porsche’s general warranty is the standard 2 years unlimited km, with paint at 3 years and corrosion at 12 years. The battery gets the familiar 8 years or 160,000 km at 70% capacity, tiered at a minimum 80% up to 3 years or 60,000 km. Here’s the catch nobody else on this list has: if you don’t follow the specific battery storage and standing time instructions in the owner’s manual, that 8 year cover drops to just 3 years or 60,000 km instead. ADAC flagged Porsche as an outlier specifically because of this clause. Unfortunately, I couldn’t find a standard, clearly published roadside assistance duration for new Porsches, Porsche Assistance mostly appears bundled with the separate Approved warranty for used cars.
| Porsche | Coverage |
|---|---|
| General vehicle | 2 years, unlimited km |
| Battery | 8 years / 160,000 km, 70% capacity, drops to 3 years / 60,000 km if storage instructions aren’t followed |
| Drive unit | Covered within the general warranty |
| Corrosion | 12 years |
| Paint | 3 years |
| Roadside assistance | Not clearly published as a standard free term for new vehicles |
Renault
Renault’s general warranty is a plain 2 years, but some of its electric models can currently be covered for 5 years or 100,000 km in total, with the extra three years added on top of the standard factory cover. The battery gets 8 years or 160,000 km at 70% state of health, while paint is covered for 3 years and corrosion for 12 years with unlimited mileage. The electric powertrain has its own separate 4 year or 100,000 km warranty. Renault also offers extended warranty packages covering mechanical, electrical and electronic faults, but there’s an important catch for EV buyers: the standard Renault Extended Warranty contract currently cannot be taken out for electric vehicles.
| Renault | Coverage |
|---|---|
| General vehicle | 2 years with unlimited km, some E-Tech models offered with 5 years / 100,000 km total |
| Battery | 8 years / 160,000 km, 70% state of health |
| Drive unit | 4 years / 100,000 km |
| Corrosion | 12 years, unlimited mileage |
| Paint | 3 years |
| Roadside assistance | Included for the warranty period |
Škoda
Škoda offers two years general, 3 years paint, 12 years unlimited corrosion, and the batteries are covered for 8 years or 160,000 km. A paid extension stretches the general cover by up to 3 more years and 150,000 km, excluding paint, corrosion and the battery. Škoda’s own site lists the Mobility Guarantee as a flat 2 years.
| Škoda | Coverage |
|---|---|
| General vehicle | 2 years, unlimited km |
| Battery | 8 years / 160,000 km, 70% capacity |
| Drive unit | Covered within the general warranty |
| Corrosion | 12 years, unlimited km |
| Paint | 3 years |
| Roadside assistance | Free for 2 years, published as a flat term |
Tesla
Tesla’s 12 year, unlimited mileage rust warranty doesn’t depend on servicing at Tesla, unlike rest of this list. The battery cap moves with the trim: 160,000 km on rear wheel drive Model 3 and Model Y, 192,000 km on Long Range and Performance, both at a 70% capacity floor. Paint and roadside assistance both just ride along with the general 4 year warranty.
| Tesla | Coverage |
|---|---|
| General vehicle | 4 years / 80,000 km |
| Battery | 8 years / 160,000 to 192,000 km, 70% capacity |
| Drive unit | Covered with the battery |
| Corrosion | 12 years, unlimited km |
| Paint | Covered within the general warranty |
| Roadside assistance | Free for the general warranty period |
Toyota
Toyota EVs carry the usual 8 year or 160,000 km battery warranty, but Toyota goes considerably further than anyone else on this list if you keep up an annual check. A successful yearly battery inspection at an authorised Toyota partner extends coverage against both degradation and outright failure up to 10 years or 1,000,000 km, whichever comes first, covering the first year at unlimited mileage.
That million kilometre figure is the standout number on this entire list, well beyond BYD’s 250,000 km. The general vehicle warranty is 3 years or 100,000 km, uncapped on mileage in year one, with Toyota Relax offering a free extension to 10 years or 200,000 km through the same annual servicing pattern. Corrosion runs 12 years unlimited km, paint 3 years unlimited km.
| Toyota | Coverage |
|---|---|
| General vehicle | 3 years / 100,000 km, unlimited km in year 1 |
| Battery | 8 years / 160,000 km at 70%, extendabe to 10 years / 1,000,000 km |
| Drive unit | Not separately published |
| Corrosion | 12 years, unlimited km |
| Paint | 3 years, unlimited km |
| Roadside assistance | Not clearly published with a standalone duration |
Volkswagen
Volkswagen’s 2 year general warranty is the EU legal minimum wearing a VW badge. You can add a factory warranty extension when ordering, taking total cover to as much as 5 years and 150,000 km, but it doesn’t extend the paint, corrosion or high-voltage battery warranties. For the ID range, Volkswagen also provides a separate mobility guarantee, free for the first 3 years from delivery, with no annual renewal once that period expires.

The battery cover is really two guarantees stacked together: any defect is covered for 8 years or 160,000 km, while capacity loss runs on its own tiered scale, at least 78% up to 3 years or 60,000 km, 74% up to 5 years or 100,000 km, and the usual 70% floor by 8 years or 160,000 km. Paint is covered for 3 years, while corrosion perforation carries a 12 year unlimited-mileage warranty. The same warranty document covers the UK and Northern Ireland alongside the EU, Norway, Iceland, Liechtenstein and Switzerland.
| Volkswagen | Coverage |
|---|---|
| General vehicle | 2 years, unlimited km. Paid extension available, 1 to 3 extra years up to 150,000 km total |
| Battery | 8 years / 160,000 km |
| Drive unit | Covered within the general warranty |
| Corrosion | 12 years, unlimited km |
| Paint | 3 years |
| Roadside assistance | 3 years |
Volvo
Volvo gives its EVs 3 years or up to 100,000 km. The battery is covered for 8 years or 160,000 km with an explicit 70% capacity guarantee, corrosion runs 12 years unlimited mileage, and paint gets 3 years from the same date as the vehicle warranty. Volvo’s official BEV warranty booklet covers vehicle, paint, corrosion and battery in detail but is silent on roadside cover entirely, so check with a dealer if that matters to you.
| Volvo | Coverage |
|---|---|
| General vehicle | 3 years / up to 100,000 km (electric models specifically) |
| Battery | 8 years / 160,000 km, 70% capacity |
| Drive unit | No separate line item published, falls under the general warranty by default |
| Corrosion | 12 years, unlimited mileage |
| Paint | 3 years |
| Roadside assistance | Not found in official warranty documentation |
Xpeng
Xpeng’s EU and UK terms differ structurally, not just in units. The EU customer warranty sets the general cover at 2 years, extending year by year up to a cap of 7 years or 160,000 km with each scheduled service, the same renew with service logic Mercedes uses for Mobilo, here applied to the general warranty rather than roadside cover. The UK paperwork skips that mechanism and states a flat 5 years or 75,000 miles. The battery lines up closely in both regions: 8 years or 160,000 km in the EU at 70% state of health, 8 years or 100,000 miles in the UK, almost the same distance.
Corrosion is 12 years unlimited in both markets. The EU document adds an explicit 3 year paint warranty the UK paperwork doesn’t mention. Roadside assistance in the EU is free for 5 years or 120,000 km, whichever comes first, coordinated by ARC Europe rather than Xpeng directly, and only claims made through Xpeng’s own hotline count, calling ADAC or a similar national provider directly isn’t covered even if they end up sending the same technician. The UK document lists a phone number without a stated duration.
| Xpeng | Continental Europe | United Kingdom |
|---|---|---|
| General vehicle | 2 years, renews yearly with servicing up to 7 years / 160,000 km | 5 years / 75,000 miles |
| Battery | 8 years / 160,000 km | 8 years / 100,000 miles |
| Drive unit | Covered with the battery | Covered with the battery |
| Corrosion | 12 years, unlimited km | 12 years, unlimited mileage |
| Paint | 3 years, unlimited km | Not specified in UK documentation |
| Roadside assistance | Free for 5 years / 120,000 km | Included, duration not published |
Zeekr
Zeekr’s general warranty starts at 5 years or 100,000 km, with the mileage limit only kicking in from month 25. Keep servicing at a Zeekr workshop past that point and it extends in blocks of 24 months or 40,000 km, up to a ceiling of 10 years or 200,000 km. The battery is covered for 8 years or 200,000 km, corrosion runs 12 years but caps at 200,000 km, and paint gets 4 years or 80,000 km. I couldn’t find a roadside assistance package with its own published duration, it’s folded into the general warranty coverage instead, which also includes up to 60 days a year of cover if you drive outside your home country.
| Zeekr | Coverage |
|---|---|
| General vehicle | 5 years / 100,000 km, extendable via servicing up to 10 years / 200,000 km |
| Battery | 8 years / 200,000 km, 70% state of health |
| Drive unit | Falls under the general warranty |
| Corrosion | 12 years / 200,000 km |
| Paint | 4 years / 80,000 km |
| Roadside assistance | Not separately published, folded into general warranty coverage |
The takeaway
So, which EV brand really offers the longest warranty in Europe? For the car as a whole, the top tier currently sits at seven years. Kia, MG, Omoda & Jaecoo and Changan all reach that mark, although Changan goes slightly further on mileage at 160,000 km, compared with 150,000 km for the others. At the other end of the scale, several established manufacturers still offer just two years of general cover, essentially sticking to the EU minimum.
The battery story is more interesting. Toyota is reigning champion here with its Battery Care Programme, covering the traction battery for up to 10 years or 1,000,000 km while guaranteeing 70% of its original capacity, but your EV has to pass an annual Battery Health Check.
BYD takes the lead when it comes to a straightforward manufacturer battery warranty, offering 8 years or 250,000 km with a 70% state-of-health guarantee. So if you’re looking at the biggest number, Toyota wins with its Battery Care Programme, while BYD offers the longest mileage limit in a conventional battery warranty. And that pretty much sums up the wider picture: don’t just look at the headline number, but check what you actually have to do to keep the cover, how long it lasts, what mileage limit applies and, most importantly for an EV, what the manufacturer promises about battery capacity.
Featured Image: Toyota
Marko Lubar is the Founder and Editor of ElectricFleet Online, where he covers the latest developments in electric vehicles, battery innovation, autonomous driving, artificial intelligence, and the technologies shaping the future of mobility.
Learn more about Marko and the mission behind ElectricFleet Online on the About Us page.









